Shamik Das


Thursday, June 11, 2009

Probably the best fielding in the world...



ANGELO MATHEWS, I take my hat off to you!

Words simply cannot do justice to the brilliance of your fielding yesterday.



And for those of you out there who believe it should have been signalled a six, here's what the laws state:-

Law, 19.3:

Scoring a boundary



(a) A boundary shall be scored and signalled by the umpire at the bowler's end whenever, while the ball is in play, in his opinion

(i) the ball touches the boundary, or is grounded beyond the boundary.

(ii) a fielder, with some part of his person in contact with the ball, touches the boundary or has some part of his person grounded beyond the boundary.



(b) The phrases 'touches the boundary' and 'touching the boundary' shall mean contact with

either (i) the boundary edge as defined in 2 above

or (ii) any person or obstacle within the field of play which has been designated a boundary by the umpires before the toss.



(c) The phrase 'grounded beyond the boundary' shall mean contact with

either (i) any part of a line or a solid object marking the boundary, except its boundary edge

or (ii) the ground outside the boundary edge

or (iii) any object in contact with the ground outside the boundary edge.



Simples!

2 Comments:

Blogger stonysleep said...

it's pretty awesome isn't it - sri lanka deserve to win this competition based on performance already i think!

11 June, 2009 22:40

 
Blogger Shamik said...

He even managed to hit the stumps as well! Absolutely totally brilliant!!

It's down to SA, SL, Ind or the Windies - if Gayle's on fire they can chase down anything!!

12 June, 2009 11:27

 

Post a Comment

Links to this post:

Create a Link

<< Home